Thirty-three Scientists awarded Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize

Prime Minister Narendra Modi recently gave away India’s most coveted science and technology award – the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize to 33 people on the National Science Day in Delhi.

Dr. Aditi Sen De of Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad, is the only woman among the 33 honored scientists. She received the award in physical sciences category for her work in quantum communication.

The award was started in 1958 in the honor of well-known scientist Dr. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, the founder director and chief architect of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR). The prize of Rs 5 lakh is given to outstanding researchers in different disciplines.

According to the PM, scientists and scientific institutes should come together to work for India’s future. At the event, Union science minister Dr Harsh Vardhan commended CSIR for improving its global ranking. “Over the last few years, under the guidance of our prime minister, our scientists have achieved a lot, especially CSIR that was ranked number nine on a list of 1,207 institutes of the world,” he said.

Scientists who were awarded

Awardees Category
Dr Rishikesh Narayan Biological Sciences
Dr Suvendra Nath Bhattacharya Chemical Biology
Dr Partha Sarathi Mukherjee Chemical Sciences
Dr Avinash Kumar Agarwal Engineering Sciences
Dr Venkata Narayana Padmanabhan Engineering Sciences
Dr G Naresh Patwari Chemical Sciences
Dr Aloke Paul Engineering Sciences
Dr Neelesh B Mehta Engineering Sciences
Dr Deepak Gaur Medical Sciences
Dr Rahul Banerjee Chemical Sciences
Dr Swadhin Kumar Mandal Chemical Sciences
Dr Amit Agrawal Engineering Sciences
Dr Ashwin Anil Gumaste Engineering Sciences